Book Review: Bitten

Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, #1)Bitten by Kelley Armstrong

I’m marking this one with a spoiler tag, not because I give anything away, but rather because I’m giving it to this piece of vileness masquerading as a book with both barrels. If you continue reading and happen to have been a fan of this, don’t say you weren’t warned. Got it?

=====================
 
“This is not a book to be tossed aside lightly. It should be thrown with great force.”
~~Dorothy Parker~~

The above nicely sums up my attitude toward this one. Though this is also one of those books that make me wonder what I missed that everyone else seems to be seeing. Or, conversely, what I saw that everyone else seems to have missed.

Why? I have no problem with anti-hero protagonists, but the author seems to have gone out of her way to create the most unlikeable, hypocritical and down-right mealy-mouthed group of truly petty and truly nasty set of characters I’ve come across in quite a while. (And, no, I’m not talking the “mutts” here. I mean the “Pack.”) End of story, at least for me, though where these four and five star ratings are coming from, as previously noted, I haven’t a clue. I could continue to burble on, but what would be the point? Since what I saw seemed self-evident, somebody, somewhere is seriously deluded. Could be me, certainly. Must concede that. But I sure as hell wouldn’t make such a concession without a fight.

Though I must admit to one rather bemused chuckle while wading through 240 pages (before coming to my senses and stopping) of what sure seemed to me like a slime-pool. That would be the back-cover blurb, “A hair-raising story for the she-wolf in us all.” Umm, that would properly be a “bitch,” right? Well, I suppose I must concede that point, at least. All the pack members certainly came across as psychopathic bitches, even though the only facsimile of a female in the whole group was Elena.

View all my reviews

Comments Off on Book Review: Bitten

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.